2022 Club Championship - Squash Knockout

2022 Club Championship

Reid wins in three! In front of a sparce but knowledgeable crowd, Mike Reid and Adam Houldridge contested a high quality, keenly contested final. Both had come through the rounds well and speaking to the players they defeated, the games were enjoyable and again keenly contested. Mike, as the favourite, got away to an early lead in the first game with some excellent drives and good length testing Adam`s patience and positioning. Late in the game Adam began to adjust to the pace created by Mike and scored his first points but he had left himself too much to do and lost the game 15 – 4. In the second game Adam started well and put Mike under some pressure but his vast experience and all-round squash knowledge allowed him to pull away. Again late in the game Adam took a number of points and started to look a little more comfortable in the match but Mike once more asserted himself and won the game 15 – 7. In the final game both players played some excellent squash driving down the walls with authority but in the end Adam`s boasts just kept catching the tin and Mike`s superior lob and greater accuracy prevailed and resulted in a score of 15 – 6 to win the Championship 3 0.

This was a really entertaining match full of good technique and tactical play. To see both players contest the final in a competitive yet sporting manner speaks well of the sporting values put forward by North Ferriby Squash and Racketball Club. I would like to thank Paul Norton for umpiring the match, with his vast knowledge of Squash competition, who better to do this. Although, as he remarked, in truth the players could have done the game themselves. New Club chairman Martin Shaw was on hand to present the trophy to Mike Reid – a very worthy champion. Congratulations to him and also to Adam who a number of people have watched improve to the point where he will be contesting this final many more times in the future.

Prelim Round
(by 11/4/22)
First Round
(by 2/5/22)
Quater Finals
(by 23/5/22)
Semi Finals
(by 13/6/22)
  Mike Reid Mike Reid Mike Reid Mike Reid
Martin Shaw Martin Shaw
Brian Matson
  Matthew Dowson Simon Hudson
  Simon Hudson
  Gordon Bell Tim Hunter Paul Watson
  Tim Hunter
  Ian White Paul Watson
Anthony Bennett Paul Watson
Paul Watson
  Mark Vahey Mark Vahey Adam Holdridge Adam Holdridge
Paul Sissons Paul Sissons
Vanessa Brown
  John Sherburn Adam Holdridge
Adam Holdridge Adam Holdridge
Rob Brockelsby
  John Newman Julian Chalk Mike Clemson
Ian Brogan Julian Chalk
Julian Chalk
  Rich McAlpin Mike Clemson
  Mike Clemson

2019 Club Championship - Squash Knockout

2019 Club Championship

Padgett wins with an exciting comeback!!

The Annual Squash Club Championship Final took place on Thursday 12th December 2019 and was a superb advert for the sport between two of our best players Paul Norton and Nick Padgett.

The match got underway with Paul taking a commanding lead playing some unplayable squash full of good length and an accurate short game and quickly took the first game 9-0. It was much the same in the second with Paul taking a 5- 0 lead but after a long rally Nick began to fight back and wore Paul down with some excellent squash moving Paul about the four corners of the court and taking the game 9 6. Nick then began to take control and played some beautiful points full of patience and precision in the 3rd game to take it 9-2. The 4th game was a seesaw affair early on with Paul showing real fight and Nick putting up wonderful defence. Gradually however, Nick continued to pressure Paul and he began to go for too much with his shots and with Nick attacking constantly the writing was on the wall and Nick took the game and the Championship 9- 4.

Both men played with great skill and a fantastic sporting attitude and never once questioned referee Martin Shaw who handled the match with aplomb, although he was the first to comment on the first – class sportsmanship shown by both players – good mates but keen competitors. This excellent example of squash at its best should have been witnessed by a larger crowd and I hope the next Championship is better supported. My congratulations to both players and in particular to Nick - a fitting champion.

Prelim Round
(by 1/09)
First Round
(by 22/09)
Quater Finals
(by 13/10)
Semi Finals
(by 3/11)
  Paul Norton Paul Norton Paul Norton Paul Norton
Julian Chalk James Maxwell
James Maxwell
  John Sherburn John Sherburn
  Mark Vahey
  Anthony Bennett Anthony Bennett George Bidder
  Tim Hunter
  George Bidder George Bidder
Dave Moorland Ben Flower
Ben Flower
  John Horler John Horler John Horler Nick Padget
  Martin Douglas
  Mike Jones Edward Bidder
Edward Bidder Edward Bidder
Colin Brooks
  Mike Clemson Phil Parsons Nick Padget
Steve Birss Phil Parsons
Phil Parsons
  Nick Padget Nick Padget
  Ian White


2018 Club Championship - Squash Knockout

First Round
(Played by 15th April)
Second Round
(Played by 29th April)
Quater Finals
(Played by 27h May)
Semi Finals
(Played by 10th June)
(Played by 24th June)
Colin Brooks Martin Shaw Dave Moorland George Bidder Chris Bowlas
Martin Shaw
Mathew Harding Dave Moorland
Dave Moorland
Martin Booth George Bidder George Bidder
George Bidder
Ian White Callam Finlay
Callam Finlay
Paul Jackson Martin Douglas Duncan Ross Chris Bowlas
Martin Douglas
Duncan Ross Duncan Ross
Adam Houldridge
Marc Henderson Mike Clemson Chris Bowlas
Mike Clemson
Jon Samuel Chris Bowlas
Chris Bowlas
Steve Birss Steve Birss Steve Birss John Horler Paul Norton
Edward Bidder
Harry Hanson Harry Hanson
Jacob Vahey
Brian Matson Brian Matson John Horler
Mike Archibald
John Horler John Horler
Mark Vahey
John Sherburn John Sherburn John Sherburn Paul Norton
Paul Hammond
Nigel Downes Nigel Downes
James Maxwell
Ian Brogan Ian Brogan Paul Norton
Dom Burnett
Paul Norton Paul Norton
Ben Flower


Congratulations to Paul Norton for winning the Club Knockout beating Chris Bowlas 3-0 in the final.


Current Members


Matches per Week


Years of History